Rockford, Illinois News

Auburn wins scholastic bowl sectional

ROCKFORD – Auburn’s scholastic bowl program dominated its IHSA Class 2A sectional on Saturday, March 13, ending its IHSA season with another trophy.

The Knights beat Cary-Grove 630-200 in its first match and then knocked off Belvidere 640-140 for the championship.

This year’s Auburn scholastic bowl team is made up of Justin Abel, Ashley Thammavong, Nam Pham, Alex Crowell, Sinecio Morales, Coby Thammavong, Eddie Hoffman, Puranjay Gupta, Huan Lin and Brielle Rach.

Over the past 21 years, Auburn has won the state scholastic bowl title twice (2008, 2015) and finished second seven times, including last year. Unfortunately, the Knights won’t be able to shoot for a third title this year. Because of the pandemic, the IHSA is not holding a state championship.

The season isn’t over for this year’s squad. The Knights have qualified for two national tournaments that will take place over Memorial Day weekend and the first weekend of June as well as The Stateline Quiz Bowl series, which will wrap up in May.