Rockford, Illinois News

New Rockford aldermen decided in Tuesday’s consolidated election

ROCKFORD — There could be five new Rockford aldermen elected in Tuesday’s consolidated election.

Of the five contested Rockford City Council races, two include incumbents. The remaining races are between newcomers running unopposed or vying for vacant seats.

Following is a brief look at Rockford’s aldermanic candidates.

Rockford City Council
Second Ward: Auburn High School teacher Jonathan Logemann (D) is challenged by Republican attorney Tyler Crosby. Loggeman was elected in 2017. He stepped away in 2019 for more than a year while serving overseas with the U.S. Army National Guard.

Fourth Ward: Republican Alderman Kevin Frost (R), is seeking a third term. He is challenged by Democrat Bryan Amezquita, a local entrepreneur.

Fifth Ward: Local activist Gabrielle Torina is running unopposed after defeating substitute teacher Elridge Gilbert Jr. and business owner Joseph Pearson in the Feb. 23 primary. No Republican filed. The Fifth Ward is currently served by longtime Democrat Venita Hervey, who did seek at fourth term.

Sixth Ward: Democrat Aprel Prunty, a Rockford Public School District 205  teacher, and Republican Jerry Wells, a systems administrator for Precision Dose, are in the race for the Sixth Ward seat. The ward is currently served by Democrat Natavias Ervins, who did not seek re-election.

Seventh Ward: HomeStart Community Engagement Manager Janessa Wilkins is also running unopposed. She defeated former RPS 205 board member Lisa Jackson in the primary. No Republican filed. The Seventh Ward is currently served by Ann Thompson-Kelly, who has served five terms and was the first Black woman elected to the Rockford City Council.

11th Ward: Incumbent Democrat Tuffy Quinonez, a retired business owner and Army veteran, is running unopposed after defeating substitute teacher Gerald Albert and financial services professional Terri Schierer in the primary. No Republican filed.

12th Ward: Republican real estate broker Robert A. Walsh faces Democrat Gina Meeks, a Strong Neighborhoods coordinator for the United Way. The 12th Ward seat is currently occupied by Jennifer “Ginger” Hanley, who is serving the remainder of Republican John Beck’s current term. Hanley was appointed to the seat last May after Beck’s death. She did not seek a four-year term.

14th Ward: Democrat Mark Bonne and Republican Mark Stefanic are vying to fill the seat vacated by Winnebago County Board Chairman Joe Chiarelli. Bonne is a former journalist, communications director for RPS 205 and currently serves as a legislative aide for Illinois Sen. Steve Stadelman. Stefanic is the director of projects for SupplyCore.

Mayor of Rockford
Mayor Tom McNamara (D) is on the ballot but has no opponent. Business owner Joey Canova filed a petition to challenge him a Republican but was removed from the ballot after his paperwork was challenged. McNamara was first elected in 2017.

Find election results HERE.