Rockford, Illinois News

AHL: Calder Cup playoffs canceled again because of COVID-19

ROCKFORD — For the second straight year, there will be no Calder Cup Playoffs, the Rockford IceHogs reported Thursday.

The news comes after AHL President Scott Howson announced that the postseason will not happened because of continued COVID-19 protocols.

Each of the American Hockey League’s five divisions has been provided the opportunity to independently determine its own postseason format. But only one division will do so. Members of the Pacific Division will complete the 2020-21 season with a playoff tournament to determine a division champion; members of the other four divisions will award champions based on regular season percentage points.

In the Central Division, the team finishing in first place will be awarded the Sam Pollock Trophy, a divisional trophy awarded since the 1995-96 season.

With a record of 9-15-1-0, the IceHogs are currently in sixth place in the Central Division and will end their season May 15 on the road against Chicago.

“While we are disappointed that we will not be able to award the Calder Cup this spring, we are grateful to have been able to provide a safe and competitive environment for more than 1,000 players to play AHL hockey and continue their development,” Howson said. “We’re especially thankful for the work done by our athletic trainers, COVID-19 officers and other frontline workers to ensure the health and safety of all of our players and staff throughout the league.”

In the Atlantic, North and Canadian divisions, the first-place teams will be awarded the Emile Francis, F.G. “Teddy” Oke, and Frank S. Mathers trophies, respectively.

The winner of the Pacific Division tournament winner will take the John D. Chick Trophy.

2021-22 Calendar
The AHL Board of Governors has also approved the calendar for the 2021-22 season.
The AHL’s 86th season, with 31 clubs expected to be active, will begin October 15, 2021 and conclude April 24, 2022.

Division alignments and schedule information will be announced during the offseason.